World Missions Announces Partnership Awards During Assembly

San Antonio, TX—Church of God World Missions held a pre-Assembly banquet on Monday, July 25, 2022, at the Grand Hyatt Lone Star Ballroom. Winners of church and state awards were announced at the event.

Historically one of the highlights of General Assembly week, the banquet attendees enjoyed Geron and Becky Davis and Voices of Lee from Lee University. The featured speaker for the evening was Dr. Mark Rutland, founder and director of the National Institute of Leadership and Global Servants, a missions organization with focused efforts in Ghana and Thailand.

One of the many highlights of the evening was the time set aside to honor the General Director of World Missions, David M. Griffis, and Assistant Director, M. Thomas Propes, for their six years of service to Church of God World Missions. Their charge to “Send the Light to the Cities” was touted as making “a lasting impact on the dissemination of the gospel around the globe.”

As part of the honor for Griffis he was presented a beautiful painting which captured his leadership of World Missions. In his remarks, Griffis thanked supporters from around the globe. He also made a surprise announcement that Sudan became the 186th country where the Church of God has a presence.

State and Church winners pose for a group photo following the banquet on Monday, July 25, 2022 in San Antonio (click image to enlarge)

Church of God World Missions Partnership Award Winners for 2020 – 2022 include then following, listed by categories, church, and/or state/region:

Church Awards & Recognitions

First Romanian Territory Chicago-Philadelphia Florin Cimpean

Category 1 – 50 in Membership

First Tennessee Ladd Springs Dennis McGuire
Runner-Up Kentucky London-Grace Fellowship Dale Campbell

Category 51 – 100 in Membership

First South Carolina Huggin Oak Edgar Foster
Runner-Up W. North Carolina Wagram Richard Brewer

Category 101 – 200 in Membership

First Florida-Tampa Ocoee Lloyd Odom
Runner-Up E. North Carolina Alligood Gary Bateman

Category 201 – 300 in Membership

First N. Georgia Cleveland- The Bridge Patrick Ballington
Runner-Up Pennsylvania Greencastle Floyd Myers

Category 301 – 400 in Membership

First Tennessee Bristol-Grace Point Brandon Smith
Runner-Up Florida-Tampa Restoration John Morgan

Category 401 – 500 in Membership

First Florida-Tampa Williston Wes Smith
Runner-Up South Carolina Palmetto Pointe Jamie Barfield

Category 501 – 750 in Membership

First: Florida-Tampa Gainesville Edward “Chris” Chrisopulos
Runner-Up Florida-Tampa Gulf Coast Randal Morris

Category 751 – 1000 in Membership

First W. North Carolina Kannapolis-West A Greg Sloop
Runner-Up Virginia Azalea Garden Rodney Vickers

Category 1001 – 1,500 in Membership

First Alabama Life Church Huntsville Kevin McGlamery
Runner-Up Florida-Tampa Cooper City Victor Massey

Category 1,501 – 2,500 in Membership

First Tennessee Restoration International Outreach Ronald Hepperly
Runner-Up South Carolina Fort Mill Mark Leonhardt

Category 2,501 – UP in Membership

First South Carolina Praise Cathedral Jerry Madden
Runner-Up Tennessee North Cleveland Mark Williams

State Awards & Recognitions


First Romanian Territory Florin Cimpean

Category C

First Hawaii Fred A Abbott
Runner-Up Rocky Mountain Region David B. Smith

Category B

First North Central Region David L. Kemp
Runner-Up Minnesota Clayton Watson

Category A

First Alaska Jeffery McGirt
Runner-Up Arizona J. Shea Hughes

Category AA

First Pacific Northwest J. Pat Wright
Runner-Up Illinois Rick Whitter

Category AAA

First Pennsylvania Tony D. Cooper
Runner-Up Mississippi Melvin R. Shuler

Category 4 Star

First Western North Carolina Kenneth R. Bell
Runner-Up Eastern North Carolina L. Dennis Page

Category 5 Star

First Tennessee T. Wayne Dority
Runner-Up South Carolina Bruce Rabon

Category 6 Star

First Florida – Tampa Timothy E. Brown
Runner-Up North Georgia Thomas A. Madden

Print This Post Print This Post