Smoky Mountain Children’s Home Announces Awards

San Antonio, TX–The Smoky Mountain Children’s Home (SMCH) sponsored an awards brunch on Monday, July 25. Executive Director Dr. Walt Mauldin and Co-Executive Director Tammie Mauldin hosted the event.

SMCH is the Church of God’s first children’s home, established more than a century ago in 1920. A focus of the brunch was celebrating the Centennial of the institution.

During the brunch, Walt and Tammie Mauldin introduced several groups of special guests, including the International Women’s Ministries Council, Executive Committee, members of the Care Ministries Board, as well as the current Division of Care leadership.

The Mauldins thanked the church departments, states and regions that sponsored the Centennial Program through the purchase of an ad. Dr. David Roebuck, Church Historian, was recognized for his article in the program that chronicles the 100-year history of the SMCH.

Dr. Raymond Culpepper, First Assistant General Overseer, shared his appreciation for the partners who continue to support the children’s home and prayed the invocation.

The 2020-2022 General Assembly Award recipients were as follows:

The B-E State Category, second place-Midlands, Marcia Stigile; first place-Northern New England, Sonja White. The A State Category, second place-New Mexico, Diann Binion; first place-Alaska, Jan Wright. The AA State Category, second place-Arkansas, Joy Claypoole; first place-Missouri, Jessica Powell. The AAA State Category, second place-Heartlands, Jan Jarvis; first place-Mississippi, Glenda Shuler. The Four Star State Category, second place-South Georgia, Lori Lewis; first place-Kentucky, Alice Fisher. The Five and Six Star State Category, second place-Alabama, Ora Hart; first place-Tennessee, Shelly Dority.

The state to raise the most money overall for the Smoky Mountain Children’s Home during this General Assembly term was Tennessee, Shelly Dority. Tennessee set an all-time record of $1,067,062.57.

Eleven state cottage sponsors were recognized: Texas, Toby & Diane Morgan; Ohio, Ron & Roshelle Martin; Tennessee, Wayne & Shelly Dority; Missouri, Tommy & Jessica Powell; Illinois, Rick & Letha Whitter; Alabama, Terry and Ora Hart; South Georgia, Gary & Lori Lewis; DelMarVa-DC, Stan & Teresa Holder; Indiana, David & Lorna Gosnell; Virginia, Joe & Betty Mirkovich; and Kentucky, Charles & Alice Fischer.

Recognition was also given to the four denominational children’s homes: Heart of Florida Youth Ranch, Director Dr. John Sweet; North Carolina Home for Children, Director Ken Hudson; South Carolina Home for Children, Director Tim Kerns; West Virginia New River Ranch, Director Dr. Carla Phillips.

The Mother’s Day Offering Award ended up in a tie for second place going to the Fayetteville Church of God, TN, Pastor Ron Wood and the Summer City Church of God, Dayton, TN Pastor Fred Marler. First place went to Price Chapel Church of God, Pastor Tony Franks, Lavonia, GA (for the second consecutive general assembly).

A Christmas Offering Award went to second place winner Green Family Worship Center, Pastor Richard Hoskins, Uniontown, OH. The first place winner (for the third assembly in a row) was presented to the Church of God Worship & Ministry Center, Pastor Gordon Lee, Lebanon, TN.

A new award category was developed to recognize local churches raising the most money for the cottage renovation their particular state sponsors on the SMCH campus. Second place award went to Life Source International, Pastor Michael McDermott, Baltimore, MD. Fist first place was awarded to Heritage of Hope Church of God, Pastor Johnny Dunbar, Somerset, KY.

In conclusion, Bishop Ron Martin, Chair of the Smoky Mountain Children’s Home Board of Directors, shared appreciation on behalf of the board and prayed a special blessing upon all of the SMCH leadership, children’s home supporters and prayer partners.

(Source: Smoky Mountain Children’s Home)

Print This Post Print This Post