Distinguished Educator Awards Announced

Two Church of God educational leaders have been named winners of the Distinguished Educators Award, a recognition which will be formally presented during the International Educators Luncheon set for the Church of God General Assembly next month in San Antonio, Texas.

Since 1976, the Church of God Division of Education has conferred the Distinguished Educator Award to worthy individuals who have made a unique contribution to education in the Church of God across the globe. In 1996, the General Board of Education added a Leadership Award to the existing Faculty Award.

On June 7, 2022, the panel of judges for the Distinguished Educator Awards met to receive the nominating ballots and to discuss the qualities of the educators. Two worthy individuals were selected:

Distinguished Educator Award for Faculty – Dr. Rickie Moore, Associate Dean of the School of Religion and Chair of the Department of Theology for Lee University. Dr. Moore served as professor at the Pentecostal Theological Seminary for 25 years, and 10 years as professor at Lee University. His teaching specialty is the Old Testament prophets. He is a founding editor of the Journal of Pentecostal Theology.

Distinguished Educator Award for Leadership – Dr. Miguel Álvarez, president of Seminario Bíblico Pentecostal Centroamericano (SEBIPCA–Quetzaltenango, Guatemala) and Director of Alianza para Educación de América Latina (ALEAL). Since 1992, Dr. Álvarez has served in many educational ministries during his long career, including president of Asian Seminary of Christian Ministries (ASCM–Manila, Philippines), president of Seminario Ministerial Sudamericano (SEMISUD–Quito, Ecuador), and now president of SEBIPCA and director of ALEAL.

“These two dedicated lifelong educators have trained thousands of ministers for service and are worthy of these honors bestowed upon them,” stated Dr. David Ramirez, Director of the Division of Education for the Church of God. “These awards will be conferred at the International Educators Luncheon and everyone is welcome to attend this celebratory occasion.”

The luncheon is set for Tuesday, July 26, 2022 from 11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m. in Room 301 at the Henry B. González Convention Center in San Antonio. Cost for the event is $40.00 per person.
Registration is available online and the deadline is June 24, 2022. Please click on the following link to register: Educator Award Luncheon.



Print This Post Print This Post