Call for Nominations for Charles W. Conn Historical Writing Award

The Church of God Historical Commission is seeking nominations for the historical writing award established in honor of longtime church historian Charles W. Conn. Awards are granted in two competitive fields of historical writing: (1) the best published book and (2) the best essay-length article.

The Charles W. Conn Historical Writing Award was established by the Church of God Executive Council in 2002 to encourage the writing and publication of books and articles related to the history and heritage of the Church of God. In addition to being the official church historian, Conn served as general overseer for the Church of God and president of Lee College (University). He was also the author of Like A Mighty Army, the premier volume of Church of God history.

The Historical Commission will accept submissions from any author and requires the works (1) are original, and (2) meet established standards of historical writing, including a writing style suitable to the intended audience. The awards are given every two years, and each award consists of a modest monitory stipend and public recognition. Preference is given to publications within the last two years.

The deadline for nominations for the 2018-2020 Assembly period is April 30, 2020.

Nominations, including a brief description of the work and the bibliographic information, may be emailed to Dr. Louis F. Morgan at [email protected]

Additional information may be received from any member of the Church of God Commission: Floyd D. Carey, Chairman; David G. Roebuck, Church Historian; James M. Beaty, Esdras Betancourt, Lance Colkmire, James E. Cossey, Wanda T. LeRoy, Gene Mills, Christopher Moree, Louis F. Morgan, C. C. Pratt, Hoyt E. Stone, and Joel Trammel.

Print This Post Print This Post